gloine-logo-bg.png
Abbreviations used for studios/artists
docDocumentedPrimary source to support the attribution.
litLiteratureSecondary source to support the attribution.
sgnSignedThe window is signed with name, initials or mark.
attribAttributedA likely attribution.
defDefinitelyThe attribution is made with confidence.
Abbreviations used for dates
docDocumentedPrimary source to support the given date.
litLiteratureSecondary source to support the given date.
sgnSignedDate appearing on the glass along with the signature or mark.
inscInscribedA date formally painted as part of the inscription.
plaqPlaqueA date appearing on a plaque nearby.
memMemorialA date of death appearing either on the glass or on a plaque nearby; note that the date of installation of a window could vary greatly from the memorial date.
circaCircaA likely date.
close.gif
Ballymascanlan
St Mary
Reference: 010090

W01
chancel; east
Three lancets, 1150mm x 550mm and three tracery-lights.

Patronage: In memory of Frederick John Foster.

studio Earley & Powell; Dublin (attrib)
date 1888 (mem)

Iconography
Identical cartoon for centre lancet.
Ballymascanlan / W01
Killeigh / W02
Dundalk
St Nicholas
Reference: 010530

W01
chancel; east
Three lancets, 4200mm x 790mm.

Salvaged Netherlandish and modern roundels, set in coloured glass by Patrick Pollen c. 1960. For iconography, see Dr Cole's book. Dates estimated in the range 1525 to 1575. The Deposition is possibly an early work by Wilhemina Geddes (1887-1955).

date 1540 (circa)

studio Netherlandish; (lit)
William Cole: Netherlandish Glass in Co. Louth, 1988

Iconography
Creggan
No dedication
Reference: 010110

W01
sanctuary; east
Three lancets, 2360mm x 520mm, two roundels and three other tracey-lights.

Patronage: In memory of Sir Thomas Jackson.

studio Douglas, Sons & Co.; Belfast (sgn)
date 1915 (mem)

Iconography
Ballymascanlan
St Mary
Reference: 010090

W09
nave; north; east-most
Two lancets, 1900mm x 500mm and one tracery-light.

Patronage: In memory of Katherine and Gertrude Victoria Plunket of Ballymascanlon House, daughters of Thomas, 2nd Baron Plunket, Bishop of Tuam.

The plaque was also made by Heaton, Butler & Bayne (maker's name engraved).

studio Heaton, Butler & Bayne; London (def)
date 1934 (plaq)

Iconography